Appointment of new Cancer Australia Advisory Council Members

Release Date

Announcement from the Hon Greg Hunt MPMinister for Health.

I am delighted to announce that six new members have been appointed to the Cancer Australia Advisory Council, making it almost two thirds female representation on the council.

The new Advisory Council members appointed for three years include:

  • Distinguished research scientist Professor Joanne Aitken
  • Gynaecological oncologist Associate Professor Penny Blomfield
  • Leading Indigenous Otolaryngologist Associate Professor Kelvin Kong
  • Consumer advocate Lillian Leigh
  • Radiation oncologist  Dr Serena Sia
  • Former NSW Minister for Health the Honourable Jillian Skinner

I am proud of the majority female representation on the Advisory Council with eight of 13 members being women.

I warmly welcome to the new members and look forward to working with them in the unrelenting fight against cancer.

I’m confident that all members will bring their expertise in helping our country combat cancer.

The Cancer Australia Advisory Council provides strategic advice to support Cancer Australia in the performance of its functions.

This includes providing national leadership to reduce the impact of cancer, addressing disparities and improving outcomes for people affected by cancer.

I am also delighted to announce that Professor Bob Thomas OAM has been reappointed as chair of the Cancer Australia Advisory Council, along with other Council members Dr William Glasson AO, Professor Dorothy Keefe PSM, and Perry Sperling PSM.

I want to thank the outgoing members of the Advisory Council Michelle Ace, Keri Huxley OAM, Dianne Rule, Dr Judith Soper and Professor George Yeoh for their highly valued contribution.

View a full list of Cancer Australia's Advisory Council members.

For further information on Cancer Australia's Advisory Council, click here.