Skip to main content


Honouring excellence in gynaecological cancer

Cancer Australia is today calling for nominations for the 2017 Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award.

“This annual Award recognises outstanding contributions to improve outcomes for women affected by gynaecological cancers*, and acknowledges the exceptional efforts made by members of the community, health professionals and researchers,” said Dr Helen Zorbas, CEO, Cancer Australia.

The announcement coincides with Teal Ribbon Day, an initiative to raise awareness of ovarian cancer, the second most common gynaecological cancer after uterine cancer, and the most common cause of gynaecological cancer death in Australia.

The Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award is offered across two categories: 

  • Members of the community (those with personal experience of gynaecological cancer, as a woman with a diagnosis of gynaecological cancer; a community or family member; or carers who have been directly involved in the support and care of a woman with gynaecological cancer); and
  • Health professionals and researchers working in the area of gynaecological cancer.

“While the five-year relative survival rate for all gynaecological cancers has increased to 68% in recent years, it remains low for ovarian cancer, with only around 44 out of every 100 women surviving five years beyond their diagnosis,” said Dr Zorbas.

“It is estimated that 1 woman will be diagnosed with ovarian cancer approximately every 6 hours in Australia and about 1 woman will die from ovarian cancer every 8 hours.

“Today, Teal Ribbon Day, we remind women that it’s important to be aware of the symptoms of the disease, as there is no effective screening test for ovarian cancer,” Dr Zorbas said.

Established in 2013, the Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award is named in honour of the late Jeannie Ferris, former Senator for South Australia. Senator Ferris passed away in April 2007 after being diagnosed with ovarian cancer in October 2005, and was passionate about raising awareness and increasing research for all gynaecological cancers.

  • Nominations close 5:00pm, Friday 31 March 2017 (EDST).
  • For more information on the Award and to nominate an outstanding contributor, visit
  • Information about gynaecological cancers.

* Gynaecological cancers refer to any cancer that begins in the female reproductive system: cancer of the ovaries, uterus, cervix, vagina and vulva, as well as, the fallopian tube and placenta (a pregnancy related cancer).

For more information: