Skip to main content


Cancer Australia welcomes the announcement of its new Advisory Council Members

The Hon Sussan Ley MP, Minister for Health, has today announced the appointment of nine new members to the Cancer Australia Advisory Council for a period of three years.

The newly appointed Cancer Australia Advisory Council members are:

  • Ms Michelle Ace
  • Dr William Glasson AO
  • Ms Keri Huxley OAM
  • Professor Dorothy Keefe
  • Ms Dianne Rule
  • Dr Judith Soper
  • Ms Perry Sperling PSM
  • Professor Robert Thomas OAM
  • Professor George Yeoh

Professor Jim Bishop, Chair, Cancer Australia’s Advisory Council, and Professor Helen Zorbas, Chief Executive Officer, Cancer Australia, welcome the announcement of the appointments.

“Cancer Australia’s Advisory Council provides strategic advice to extend the agency’s impact and influence, and provide national leadership in cancer control in line with the functions as stated in the Cancer Australia Act 2006.” said Professor Bishop.

“Cancer is a disease of great community concern with challenges requiring coordinated, evidence-driven and national leadership into the future,” said Professor Helen Zorbas.

“The wealth and breadth of experience of the new Council members will no doubt serve the agency well in delivering on our Strategic Plan 2014-2019 and informing and supporting the Government’s cancer control policies and programs. I look forward to their contribution over the next 3 years,” Professor Zorbas said.

Minister’s media release (.PDF 382KB)

Biographical information (.doc 57KB)