Skip to main content


Leaders in Gynaecological Cancer Care Recognised

In receiving the 2016 Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award, Ms Karen Livingstone and Professor Michael Quinn AM were today recognised for their leadership in improving outcomes for women affected by gynaecological cancers.

Cancer Australia CEO, Professor Helen Zorbas, said gynaecological cancers continued to have a significant impact on the community.

“Gynaecological cancers are the third most commonly diagnosed cancers in women in Australia, with an estimated 5,600 new cases diagnosed this year,” she said.

“I am delighted to announce the two worthy recipients of the Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award, which recognises exceptional efforts in gynaecological cancer in two categories: those with a personal experience of the disease or as a carer; and health professionals or researchers.”

Ms Karen Livingstone won the Award for her ongoing advocacy work in gynaecological cancer, consumer support and research.

Karen, whose mother died of ovarian cancer, was a co-founder of Ovarian Cancer Australia in 2001 and in 2009 she established national Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month to raise awareness in the community of ovarian cancer.

As a consumer representative on the Australia New Zealand Gynaecological Oncology Group (ANZGOG), Karen actively fostered consumer engagement in cancer clinical trials. Karen has also been a driving force in the development of the innovative research program, the OASIS initiative.

The successful recipient of the health professionals and researchers Award is Professor Michael Quinn AM.

Professor Quinn is highly regarded nationally and internationally for his leadership in gynaecological cancer, as a respected gynaecological oncologist, researcher and innovator. Professor Quinn co-founded ANZGOG in 2000 and was Chair from 2009 until 2012. He has held a number of key positions internationally including, chair of Gynaecologic Cancer Intergroup  (the world’s largest gynaecological cancer clinical trials group) from 2010-2012, and he is currently President of the International Gynaecologic Cancer Society. 

Professor Quinn has authored more than 255 refereed publications, 5 text books, 13 book chapters and 3 monographs. He serves as a Senior Editor of the International Journal of Gynaecological Oncology.

Established in 2013, the Jeannie Ferris Cancer Australia Recognition Award is named in honour of the late Jeannie Ferris, Senator for South Australia, who was passionately committed to raising awareness about gynaecological cancers.  Senator Ferris was diagnosed with ovarian cancer in October 2005 and passed away in April 2007.

Gynaecological cancer is an overarching term used to describe cancer of the ovaries, uterus, cervix, vagina and vulva, as well as the fallopian tube and placenta (a pregnancy related cancer).

For all media enquiries, please contact:  Judy Goldman at Cancer Australia on (02) 9357 9401, 0438 209 833 or email